AWARDS

Call for Nominations

For details on each award, including a list of requirements for award nominees, and in some cases, a downloadable nomination form, please go to the ECS website (www.electrochem.org) and click on the "Awards" link. This will take you to a general page that will then lead to the individual awards. The awards are grouped in one of four categories: Society Awards, ECS Division Awards, Student Awards, and ECS Section Awards. Click on one of these sub-links to find the individual award. Please see each for information about where nomination materials should be sent; or you may contact the ECS headquarters office by using the contact information on the awards Web page. For student awards, please see the Student News Section in this issue.

Visit WWW.electrochem.org

and click on the "Awards" link.





The VITTORIO DE NORA AWARD was established in 1971 for contributions to the field of electrochemical engineering and technology; and consists of a gold medal, wall plaque, and a prize of \$7,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Orlando, Florida, May 11-16, 2014.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Ralph E. White University of South Carolina, Department of Chemical Engineering, Room 2B51, Swearingen Engineering Center, Columbia, SC 29208-0001 USA; tel: 803.777.3270; e-mail: white@ cec.sc.edu. Please send a copy of all awards materials to awards \bar{a} electrochem.org. Materials are due by May 1, 2013.



The HENRY B. LINFORD AWARD FOR DISTINGUISHED TEACHING was established in 1981 for excellence in teaching in subject areas of interest to the Society; and consists of a silver medal, wall plaque, and a prize of \$2,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Orlando, Florida, May 11-16, 2014.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to D. Noel Buckley, University of Limerick, Department of Physics, Limerick, Ireland; tel: +353 61202902; e-mail: noel.buckley@ul.ie. Materials are due by May 1, 2013.



The award of ECS FELLows was established in 1989 for individual contribution and leadership in the achievement of science and technology in the area of electrochemistry and solid-state sciences and current

active participation of the affairs of ECS, and consists of a scroll, lapel pin, and announcement in a Society publication. The next Fellows will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in San Francisco, California, October 27-November 1, 2013.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Paul Natishan, Naval Research Laboratory, Code 6134, 4555 Overlook Ave., Washington, DC 20375, USA; tel: 202.767.9255; e-mail: natishan@nrl.navy.mil. Materials are due by January 15, 2013.

Division Awards



The BATTERY DIVISION RESEARCH AWARD was established in 1958 to recognize outstanding contributions to the science and technology of primary and secondary cells and batteries and fuel cells. The award consists of a scroll, a prize of a \$2,000, travel assistance to the meeting if required, and membership in the Battery Division for as long as the winner is a

Society member. The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in San Francisco, California, October 27-November 1, 2013. Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to

Dominique Guyomard, CNRS-IMN, Institute of Materials Jean Rouxel, 2 rue de la Houssiniere, BP 32229, 44322 Nantes, Cedex 3, France; e-mail: Dominique.Guyomard@cnrs-imn.fr. Materials are due by March 15, 2013.



The Technology Award of the Battery Division was established in 1993 to encourage the development of battery and fuel cell technology. The award consists of a scroll, prize of \$2,000, travel assistance to the meeting if required, and membership in the Battery Division for as long as the

winner is a Society member. The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in San Francisco, California, October 27-November 1, 2013.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Khalil Amine, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne National Laboratory, 9700 S Cass Ave., # CSE-205, Argonne, IL 60439-4803, USA; e-mail: amine@anl.gov. Materials are due by March 15, 2013.



The Electrodeposition Division Research Award was established in 1979 to recognize recent outstanding achievement or contribution in the field of electrodeposition. The award consists of a scroll and a prize of \$2,000. The next award will be presented at the ECS fall

meeting in San Francisco, California, October 27-November 1, 2013. Submit nominations in a letter detailing the accomplishments of

the nominee accompanied by a list of supporting publications with titles. Hariklia Deligianni, IBM Corporation, T.J. Watson Research Center, 1101 Kitchawan, Yorktown Heights, NY, 10598-0218, USA; e-mail: lili@us.ibm.com. Materials are due by April 1, 2013.

AWARDS



The J. B. WAGNER, JR. AWARD OF THE HIGH TEMPERATURE MATERIALS DIVISION was established in 1998 to recognize a young member of the Society who has demonstrated exceptional promise for a successful career in science and

technology in the field of high temperature materials. The successful nominee shall be: (1) a member of the Society in good standing for at least two years prior to the date of nomination, and (2) not yet reached their thirty-sixth (36th) birthday by the close of nomination (have a birthdate on or after January 1, 1977). The award consists of a scroll, a prize of \$1,000, and travel assistance (if needed) to the meeting where the award presentation will take place. The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in San Francisco, California, October 27-November 1, 2013.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Greg S. Jackson, University of Maryland, Department of Mechanical Engineering, 2181 Martin Hall, College Park, MD 20742-0001, USA; tel: 301.405.2368; e-mail: gsjackso@umd.edu. Materials are due by January 1, 2013.



The MANUEL M. BAIZER AWARD OF THE ORGANIC AND BIOLOGICAL ELECTROCHEMISTRY DIVISION was established in 1992 for outstanding scientific achievements in the electrochemistry of organics. The award consists of a

scroll, a prize of \$1,000, and travel assistance (if needed) to the meeting where the award presentation will take place. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Orlando, Florida, May 11-16, 2014.

Nominations should include a copy of the nominee's curriculum vita, plus a maximum of 12 pages consisting of a letter of nomination, a brief biological sketch that can be included with the award announcement, and no more than three supporting letters. No individual may write in support of more than one candidate. The materials should be sent (preferably in electronic form) to the Chair of the Baizer Award Committee, Graham Cheek, U.S. Naval Academy, Michelson Hall, 572 Holloway Rd., Stop 9B, Annapolis, MD 21402-1314, USA; e-mail: cheek@usna.edu. Materials are due by January 15, 2013.



The MAX BREDIG AWARD IN MOLTEN SALT AND IONIC LIQUID CHEMISTRY OF THE PHYSICAL AND ANALYTICAL ELECTROCHEMISTRY DIVISION was established in 1984 to recognize excellence in molten salt chemistry research and consists of a scroll and a prize of \$1,500. The next award will be

presented at the ECS fall meeting in Cancun, Mexico, October 5-10, 2014.

Nomination materials and award form may be found by visiting the award webpage on the ECS website at www.electrochem.org/ awards/division/division awards.htm#q. Completed nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Paul C. Trulove, Chemistry Department, U.S. Naval Academy, 572M Holloway Rd., Stop 9B, Annapolis MD, 21402-5026, USA; tel. 410.293.6622, e-mail: trulove@usna.edu. Materials are due by March 1, 2013.



The 7th Workshop on Scanning Electrochemical Microscopy (SECM) and Related Techniques

will be held on February 17-21, 2013 in Ein Gedi (the Dead Sea), Israel.

Details about the meeting can be found at: http://chem.ch.huji.ac.il/SECM-2013/