# SOCIETY NEWS

### **EUROCVD XII**

The Twelfth EUROCVD meeting will continue the tradition, started in Paris (1977) and most recently continued at the same city (1997), of offering every two years a series of conferences on CVD and related topics. The conference will be organised by the Institut de Ciència de Materials of Barcelona ICMAB-C.S.I.C. and will be held at the coastal village of Sitges (Melià Gran Sitges Hotel) near Barcelona on September 5-10, 1999.

The conference is intended to focus on the following topics: fundamentals, modelling, material types, nanoparticles, MOCVD, assisted methods, CVD technology, industrial applications, film characterization, diagnostic tools, and process control.

The deadline for registration is May 15, 1999. For meeting information, abstracts and inquires please contact the conference organiser: Albert Figueras, Institut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona, Campus de la UAB, 08193 Bellaterra, Spain. Phone: (34)93.580.18.53 fax: (34)93.580.57.29. email: albert.figueras@icmab.es.

This conference will also include a technical exhibition. Parties interested in exhibiting should contact s.garelik@icmab.es.

### Council of Local Sections Elections Results

Officers for 1998-1999 are as follows:

D. Schwartz, *Chairman* P. Bruce, *Vice-Chairman* Gessie Brisard, *Secretary* P. Natishan, *Past Chairman* 

#### Errata

In the Spring 1998 issue, the biographical information for Steven Petrovic (the 1997 Joseph W. Richards Summer Research Fellowship Winner), should have read that he is a doctoral candidate at Ohio University, not Ohio State University.

In the same issue, in the photograph on page 49, the third person from the left was mistakenly identified as Vittorio de Nora. The person is Jack Horacek, president of what was then Electrode Corporation, which was created as a joint venture between Vittorio de Nora and Diamond Shamrock. Thanks to Arthur M. Greenberg, who worked at Electrode Corporation from 1969 to 1987, for the correction.

# **DIVISION & GROUP NEWS**

New officers have been elected for the following Divisions and Group:

#### DS&T

#### Chairman **Robert** Opila Vice-Chairman **Richard Ulrich** Treasurer Henry Hughes Secretary Cindy Reidsema-Simpson Awards Chairman Katalin Voros Membership Chairman/ Rep. Individual Membership Durga Misra Governing Body Simon Ang James Amick Al Bergendahl Francis (Bo) Burns **Bill Brown** Marc Cahay Bob Comizzoli Symposium Chairman Jamal Deen

### IE&EE

Chairman James M. Fenton Vice Chairman Clifford W. Walton Secretary/Treasurer Peter C. Foller

#### **Fullerenes Group**

Chairman Karl Kadish Vice Chairman Prashant V. Kamat Secretary Stephen R. Wilson Treasurer Shekhar Subramoney Members at large: S. Fukuzumi Rodney Ruoff

## Call for Nominations • Interface Editor

ECS is seeking to fill the position of Editor of *Interface*, the Society's quarterly members magazine. As a result of the 1998 elections, Jan B. Talbot, *Interface's* current Editor, is now the Society's Third Vice-President. She will finish the current year as Editor and then devote her energies to her new role.

Nominees should have qualities of leadership, technical breadth, time commitment, creativity, and motivation. The *Interface* Editor's duties involve solicitating articles from the ECS Divisions (one Division is featured in each issue of the magazine), and assisting the Division in the development of its issue. The Editor also encourages contributions from the broad scientific community that are of interest to ECS members. The Editor has the assistance of the publication's Managing Editor, and other Society staff, in the development and production of each issue. The Editor serves at the pleasure of the Publication Committee for a five-year term. The Search Committee will recommend a name for approval by the Publication Committee. If approved, the name will be recommended to the Board of Directors for approval at the Society's Fall Meeting in Boston this coming November.

In addition to self-nominations, ECS members are encouraged to submit names of others as possible candidates. Those interested should indicate their qualifications for the position and send a brief resume (one page or less) to the Chairman of the *Interface* Editor Search Committee; send all suggestions and nominations **no later than August 31, 1998 to:** 

Dennis W. Hess

School of Chemical Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology 778 Atlantic Drive, Atlanta, GA 30332-0100 USA Tel.: (404) 894-5922 • Fax: (404) 894-2866 • E-mail: dennis.hess@che.gatech.edu