SECTION NEWS

Twin Cities

On October 3, 2014, the ECS Twin Cities Section held its annual Electrochemistry Symposium. The all-day symposium was well attended with over 96 registrations, and speakers from industry and academia covering a broad range of electrochemical topics.

Approximately 27 attendees were graduate students from Minnesota and the neighboring states, and 16 posters were presented during the afternoon poster session. The free event took place at the 3M Innovation Center and was enjoyed by all.



Speakers and Twin Cities Section Officers at the 2014 Twin Cities Electrochemistry Symposium. Front row: Peter Zhang (Section Vice Chair, Medtronic), Alan Shi (Section Treasurer, Medtronic). Back row: Philippe Buhlmann (Speaker, University of Minnesota), Vincent Chevrier (Section Chair, 3M), Terry Smith (Speaker, 3M), Shawn Kelley (Speaker, Medtronic), Jonathan Tomshine (Speaker, Mayo Clinic), Peter Faguy (Speaker, DoE), Benjamin Wilson (Section Student Representative, University of Minnesota), Darrel Untereker (Speaker, Medtronic), Jagat Singh (Section Secretary, 3M). Missing speakers: Jeff Dahn (Dalhousie University), Andrew Haug (3M). Missing Section Officers: William Howard, Prabhakar Tamirisa (Medtronic).

Europe Section



Past Chair of the Europe Section, **D. Noel Buckley**, inspecting the refreshments at the Cancun meeting. A regular section meeting traditionally occurs at each ECS biannual meeting on Monday evening, and wine and cheese to greet the members is part of the tradition. (Photo P. Vanýsek)

The ECS Europe Section Alessandro Volta Medal Award was established in 1998 and granting of this award is based on outstanding achievements in electrochemical science or solid state technology. This year the award was bestowed on Phil N. Bartlett from the University of Southampton. The awardee presents a lecture at an appropriate symposium during the ECS meeting. Unfortunately, Prof. Bartlett was unable to come to Cancun and will give his presentation in Chicago, May 2015. Therefore, the full information about his accomplishments will be available in the meeting program for spring 2015.

The section elected new officers at the Cancun meeting. They are Chair: Enrico Traversa, King Abdullah University of Science & Technology (KAUST); Vice Chair, Petr Vanýsek, Northern Illinois University (on leave of absence at the Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic); Secretary Renata Solarska, University of Warsaw; and, Treasurer Davide Bonifazi, University of Namur. The past chair is D. Noel Buckley, University of Limerick. Sixteen members-atlarge were also elected to the Executive Committee.