ECS Logo
Home ECS Members Education Awards Students Sponsorship Publications Meetings
ECS Students Center
Student Membership
Student Awards
Career Center
Student Travel Grants
Student Chapters
Short Courses
ECS Member Info
Renew Membership Now
Career Center
Technical Interest Areas and Divisions
Student Chapters
Governance and Committees
Press Room
Advertising Opportunities
Get Free Newsletter
ECS Redcat Blog
Knowledge Base


ECS Student Chapters

Guidelines for forming a Student Chapter
Application for forming a Student Chapter
Student Membership
Students' Center

ECS has a number of student chapters which provide an opportunity to understand electrochemical and solid-state sciences, to have a venue for meeting fellow students, and to receive recognition for organized scholarly activities and community services. ECS offers current members of Student Chapters free annual Student Memberships to qualified full-time students. Eligible students must be full-time undergraduate or graduates registered for a degree in natural science or engineering and a participating member of their Student Chapter.

ECS Outstanding Student Chapter Award
Presented annually at the fall ECS bi-annual meeting, the Outstanding ECS Student Chapter Award recognizes one student chapter annually that has distinguished itself through active participation in the Electrochemical Society’s technical activities, outstanding community and outreach activities in science and engineering education, and a robust membership base.

The 2015 ECS Outstanding Student Chapter Award recipient was Indiana University. Founded in 2015, Indiana University brings together members from a variety of research backgrounds such as mechanistic organic, environmental, bioanalytical, and materials, to promote interdisciplinary discussions about electrochemistry and solid state science. Led by faculty advisors Professor Dennis Peters and Professor Lane Baker, this group has hosted guest speakers, including Allen J. Bard and Nate Lewis, on their campus to not only present seminars, but also give career advice. The mission of the Indiana Student Chapter is to spread knowledge of electrochemical science to the younger members of their community. This year will mark the fourth year in a row that this chapter volunteered at Science Fest, where chapter members host an entire laboratory with hands-on electrochemical experiments. This coming year they will add a research talk, open to all. The Indiana Student Chapter strives to build a better forum for students with different backgrounds to share their ideas, host and conduct outreach activities, while furthering their professional development.

Current ECS Student Chapters

ECS Student Chapter
(Year Founded)
Faculty Advisor Contact
Atlanta Student Chapter at Georgia Tech (2008) Peter J. Hesketh
Auburn University (2007) Majid Beidaghi
Belgium (2015) Stefan De Gendt
Philippe Vereecken
Boston (2009)
Northeastern University
Harvard University
Eugene Smotkin
British Columbia (2013)
University of British Columbia
Simon Fraser University
University of Victoria
Dan Bizzotto bizzotto@ch
Brno University of Technology (2006) Jiri Vondrak
Calgary (2011) Viola Birss
California State University (2012)
Fullerton Division
John Haan
Central Illinois (2008) Andrzej Wieckowski
Clemson University (2014) Stephen Creager
ECS Cleveland Section and Ernest B. Yeager Center for Electrochemical Sciences Joint Student Chapter (2005) James D. Burgess
Colorado School of Mines (2012) Andrew Herring
Drexel University (2012) Yury Gogotsi
Ekaterina Pomerantseva
Illinois Institute of Technology (2015) Vijay Ramani
Adam Hock
Indiana University (2012) Lane Baker
Dennis Peters
Kerala, India at CUSAT (2008) M. K. Jayaraj
Lewis University (2015) Jason J. Keleher
Lahore, Pakistan (2008) Inam Ul Haque
Montana State University (2013) Paul Gannon
Ryan Anderson
Montreal (2010) Steen B. Schougaard
Munich (2015) Hubert Gasteiger
New Mexico State University (2015) Vimal Chaitanya
Hongmei Luo
North Florida (2014) Pedro Moss
Norwegian University of Science and Technology (2014) Ann Mari Svensson
Ohio State University (2006) Anne Co
Ohio University (2011) Gerardine Botte
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (2013) Daniel Lewis
David Duquette
Research Triangle Student Chapter (2013)
Duke University
NC State
UNC - Chapel Hill
Jeffrey Glass (Duke)
South Brazilian (Univ. Fed. do Rio Grande do Sul) (2010) Luis Frederico P. Dick
SRM University (2013) Ranjit Thapa
Bhalchandra Kakade
Tel Aviv University (2009) Eliezer Gileadi
Yosi Shacham-Diamand
Tyndall National Institute (2012) Alan O’Riordan
U.K. Northwest (2015) Laurence Hardwick
University of Arkansas (2014) Rick Wise
Ingrid Fritsch
University of California – Berkeley (2006) Bryan McCloskey
University of California – Los Angeles (2015) Sarah Tolbert
University of California – Riverside (2011) Alexander Balandin
University of California – San Diego (2014) Shirley Meng
University of Central Florida (2000) Kalpathy Sundaram
University of Cincinnati (2007) Marc Cahay
University of Florida (2005) Mark Orazem
University of Iowa (2014) Johna Leddy
University of Kentucky (2014) Mona Shirpour
University of Maryland (2011) Eric Wachsman
University of Nevada - Reno (2014) Dev Chidambaram
University of Pittsburgh (2014) Prasanth Kumta
University of Saint Andrews (2015) John T. S. Irvine
Mark Cassidy
University of South Carolina (2010) Xiao-dong Zhou
University of Tartu (2013) Kaido Tammeveski
University of Texas at Austin (2006) Ram Manthiram
University of Texas at Dallas (2012) Moon Kim
University of Utah (2015) Shelley Minteer
Henry White
University of Virginia (2006) Giovanni Zangari
Valley of the Sun (Central Arizona) (2013) Candace Chan

For additional information on becoming an ECS Student Chapter, please contact Beth Fisher at: or 609.737.1902 ext. 103.

Connect with ECS


Home | ECS Members | Education | Awards | Students | Sponsorship | Publications | Meetings

About | Contact | Privacy Policy | Site Map

© The Electrochemical Society, all rights reserved.



About ECS | Contact ECS