ECS Logo
Home ECS Members Education Awards Students Sponsorship Publications Meetings
ECS Students Center
Student Membership
Student Awards
Career Center
Student Travel Grants
Student Chapters
Short Courses
ECS Member Info
Donate
Membership
Renew Membership Now
Career Center
Technical Interest Areas and Divisions
Sections
Student Chapters
Governance and Committees
Press Room
ECS Advertising Opportunities
Get Free Newsletter
ECS Redcat Blog
Knowledge Base

 

ECS Student Chapters

Guidelines for forming a Student Chapter
Application for forming a Student Chapter
Student Membership
Students' Center


ECS has a number of student chapters which provide an opportunity to understand electrochemical and solid-state sciences, to have a venue for meeting fellow students, and to receive recognition for organized scholarly activities and community services. ECS offers current members of Student Chapters free annual Student Memberships to qualified full-time students. Eligible students must be full-time undergraduate or graduates registered for a degree in natural science or engineering and a participating member of their Student Chapter.

ECS Outstanding Student Chapter Award
Presented annually at the fall ECS bi-annual meeting, the Outstanding ECS Student Chapter Award recognizes one student chapter annually that has distinguished itself through active participation in the Electrochemical Society’s technical activities, outstanding community and outreach activities in science and engineering education, and a robust membership base.

The 2014 ECS Outstanding Student Chapter Award recipient was The University of Texas at Austin. Founded in 2007, The University of Texas at Austin Student Chapter has provided an interdisciplinary forum for students from different branches of the physical sciences and engineering to meet and discuss emerging ideas about electrochemistry and solid state sciences. Led by faculty advisor Arumugam Manthiram and Chapter President Josephine Cunningham, the UT Austin Student Chapter has worked on improving the lives of the students and community in the Austin, TX area through outreach programs and organized seminars. In the 2013-14 year, the UT Austin ECS Student Chapter hosted seminars from leading scientists in the ECS; informal “chalk talks” where student members presented their research to the chapter; and exposed young minds to the ideas of electrochemistry and solid state science at the annual Explore UT event and Meridian Science Day. In addition, the recognition of UT Professors Allen J. Bard and John B. Goodenough with Honorary Memberships by the ECS was a highlight this year. With all of the events they put on, the membership of The University of Texas at Austin ECS Student Chapter has continued to grow, supporting the legacy of UT Austin as a leader in the fields of Electrochemistry and Solid State Sciences.

For 2014, University of Maryland and Valley of the Sun (Central Arizona) were recognized as Chapters of Excellence. For more information on applying for the 2015 Outstanding ECS Student Chapter Award, please see the award rules.


Current ECS Student Chapters

ECS Student Chapter
(Year Founded)
Faculty Advisor Contact
Atlanta Student Chapter at Georgia Tech (2008) Peter J. Hesketh peter.hesketh@me.gatech.edu
Auburn University (2007) Jeffrey Fergus jwfergus@eng.auburn.edu
Boston (2009)
Northeastern University
Harvard University
MIT
Eugene Smotkin e.smotkin@neu.edu
Brno University of Technology (2006) Jiri Vondrak vondrakj@iic.cas.cz
Calgary (2011) Viola Birss birss@ucalgary.ca
California State University (2012)
Fullerton Division
John Haan jhaan2@uiuc.edu
Central Illinois (2008) Andrzej Wieckowski andrzej@scs.uiuc.edu
Clemson University (2014) Stephen Creager screage@clemson.edu
ECS Cleveland Section and Ernest B. Yeager Center for Electrochemical Sciences Joint Student Chapter (2005) James D. Burgess jdb22@po.cwru.edu
Colorado School of Mines (2012) Andrew Herring aherring@mines.edu
Drexel University (2012) Yury Gogotsi gogotsi@drexel.edu
Indiana University (2012) Lane Baker
Dennis Peters
lanbaker@indiana.edu
peters@indiana.edu
Kerala, India at CUSAT (2008) M. K. Jayaraj mkj@cusat.ac.in
Lahore, Pakistan (2008) Inam Ul Haque inamul.haque@gmail.com
Montana State University (2013) Paul Gannon
Ryan Anderson
pgannon@montana.edu
ryan.anderson@coe.montana.edu
Montreal (2010) Steen B. Schougaard schougaard.steen@uqam.ca
North Florida (2014) Pedro Moss plm1735@my.fsu.edu
Norwegian University of Science and Technology (2014) Ann Mari Svensson annmari.svensson@ntnu.no
Ohio State University (2006) Anne Co co@chemistry.ohio-state.edu
Ohio University (2011) Gerardine Botte botte@ohio.edu
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (2013) Daniel Lewis
David Duquette
lewisd2@rpi.edu
duqued@rpi.edu
Research Triangle Student Chapter (2013)
Duke University
NC State
UNC - Chapel Hill
Jeffrey Glass (Duke) jeff.glass@duke.edu
South Brazilian (Univ. Fed. do Rio Grande do Sul) (2010) Luis Frederico P. Dick lfdick@ufrgs.br
SRM University (2013) Ranjit Thapa
Bhalchandra Kakade
ranjit.phy@gmail.com
bhalchandrakakade@gmail.com
Tel Aviv University (2009) Eliezer Gileadi
Yosi Shacham-Diamand
gileadi@post.tau.ac.il
yosish@post.tau.ac.il
Tyndall National Institute (2012) Alan O’Riordan alan.oriordan@tyndall.ie
University of Arkansas (2014) Rick Wise rickwise@uark.edu
University of British Columbia (2013) Dan Bizzotto bizzotto@chem.ubc.ca
University of California – Berkeley (2006) John Newman newman@newman.cchem.berkeley.edu
University of California – Riverside (2011) Alexander Balandin balandin@ee.ucr.edu
University of California – San Diego (2014) Shirley Meng shirleymeng@ucsd.edu
University of Central Florida (2000) Kalpathy Sundaram sundaram@mail.ucf.edu
University of Cincinnati (2007) Marc Cahay marc.cahay@uc.edu
University of Florida (2005) Mark Orazem morazem@che.ufl.edu
University of Iowa (2014) Johna Leddy johna-leddy@uiowa.edu
University of Kentucky (2014) Mona Shirpour mshirpour@gmail.com
University of Maryland (2011) Eric Wachsman ewach@umd.edu
University of Nevada - Reno (2014) Dev Chidambaram dcc@unr.edu
University of Pittsburgh (2014) Prasanth Kumta pkumta@pitt.edu
University of South Carolina (2010) Xiao-dong Zhou xiao-dong.zhou@sc.edu
University of Tartu (2013) Kaido Tammeveski kaido@chem.ut.ee
University of Texas at Austin (2006) Ram Manthiram rmanth@mail.utexas.edu
University of Texas at Dallas (2012) Moon Kim moonkim@utdallas.edu
University of Virginia (2006) Rob Kelly rgk6y@virginia.edu
Valley of the Sun (Central Arizona) (2013) Candace Chan Candace.chan@asu.edu


For additional information on becoming an ECS Student Chapter, please contact Beth Fisher at: beth.fisher@electrochem.org or 609.737.1902 ext. 103.


Connect with ECS

 
 

Home | ECS Members | Education | Awards | Students | Sponsorship | Publications | Meetings

About | Contact | Privacy Policy | Site Map

© The Electrochemical Society, all rights reserved.

 

 

About ECS | Contact ECS

SEARCH ECS: